format internet:

…please wait (49% completed)…

Eclipse buttons not working on Ubuntu Karmic Koala

Posted by javier ramirez on December 23, 2009

Lately I was experiencing a strange behavior when working with Eclipse/RadRails. Some of the buttons didn’t work anymore. I could click on them, but they’d just appear as selected, without performing any actions. I had to use the enter key to actually click on the button.

Since I had run an update some days ago, I was blaming some new version of one of the installed plugins.. but I was wrong.

Today I read this post where it explains how to fix it. It’s a conflict between Eclipse and the latest versions of GTK+. By setting the GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS variable to use native windows, everything is back to normal.

And they lived happily ever after (or until the next major release anyway)

5 Responses to “Eclipse buttons not working on Ubuntu Karmic Koala”

  1. Eric said

    So how did you set the GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS variable to use native windows? :)

  2. Helo there! I knbow this is kind of off topic but I was woindering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using tthe same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  3. What’s up, this weekend is pleasant for me, since
    this time i am reading this great educational piece of writing here at my
    residence.

  4. Here is a good promotion for victory. formatinternet.wordpress.com
    http://bit.ly/2KAMm5w

Leave a comment